2013 Annual Membership Meeting

Annual Membership Meeting

Harry Harrison Jr., MD, presenting the volunteer award Group Health Cooperative's 66th annual membership meeting attracted nearly 400 people on Oct. 5 in Lynnwood. President and CEO Scott Armstrong reported that Group Health is "on track" to meet the spending and affordability targets that he announced to the membership a year ago. "We've done this without compromising the excellence of our care, or the quality of our service," Armstrong said. "We've developed new levels of discipline around our financial performance — a discipline that is more like the attention we pay to quality."

Armstrong went on to say that "The opening this week of the state's health benefits exchange is just the latest example of a sweeping transformation that will affect every aspect of how health care is delivered and paid for in this country," adding that lowering costs is "the fundamental imperative" for every health care organization in the country.

Election of Board Members

Jennifer Joly, Susan Byington, and Dorothy Ruzicki were re-elected to the Board of Trustees. The new terms begin Jan. 1, 2014. Eleven trustees are elected by Group Health members to staggered three-year terms. The Board hires the chief executive officer and sets the strategy, policy, and direction for Group Health.

Over 3,700 votes were submitted in person and by mail. More than 75 volunteers, both staff and consumers, helped make the event a success.

Volunteer Appreciation Award

Transportation Assistance Program Coordinator Lisa Hirohata accepted the Volunteer Appreciation Award on behalf of more than 30 drivers in the Transportation Assistance Program. The award was accompanied by a video presentation honoring Group Health transportation volunteers.

Volunteer Appreciation Award

Other sites: Providers | Producers | Employers